Wednesday, 10 December 2008

2008 Nobel Prize Winners

Martti Ahtisaari, peace broker and former President of Finland, in Berlin. Mr Ahtisaari was awarded the 2008 Nobel Peace Prize.

The award came 24 hours after French author Jean-Marie Le Cl├ęzio won the 2008 Nobel Literature Prize.

Yoichiro Nambu, the University of Chicago physics professor, at his home in Chicago after learning he had won the 2008 Nobel Prize for Physics.

Japanese scientists Makoto Kobayashi, right, and Toshihide Maskawa, in Tokyo on Friday. The two shared the physics prize with Yoichiro Nambu.

Cancer researcher Harald zur Hausen displaying pictures of viruses in his laboratory in Heidelberg, Germany. He was awarded the 2008 Nobel Prize for Medicine.

French scientists Luc Montagnier and Francoise Barre-Sinoussi after meeting President Sarkozy in Paris. They received the 2008 Nobel Prize for Medicine for their discovery of the HIV virus in 1983.

Martin Chalfie, of Columbia University, after winning the 2008 Nobel Prize in Chemistry. He shared the award with Roger Tsien for their work on the green fluorescent protein first found in jellyfish.

Roger Tsien answers congratulatory emails in his office at the University of California, San Diego, after learning that he was sharing the 2008 Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

Osamu Shimomura, a Japanese researcher at the Marine Biological Laboratory in Woods Hole, was also awarded the 2008 Nobel Prize for Chemistry.

Related Blog:
Nobel Prize history

No comments:

Blog Widget by LinkWithin